Machine Altar Transmission

[ 33rd Anniversary Deluxe ]

DHI (death and horror inc) - Machine Altar Transmission (33rd Anniversary Deluxe) album cover

Q: How is this 2024 remaster different from previous versions?

A: Hit play, and it is immediately noticeable that there is a clarity, depth, and cohesion to the overall mix, that simply did not exist before. The drums and bass are noticeably fatter and punchier. The guitars are thicker and warmer. And the urgency of the vocals is fully captured, without compromise. In retrospect, all previous releases were merely rehearsals for the 2024 remasters.

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL RELEASE, offered directly from us (DHI).
Support the band. Not the bootleggers. Learn more >


Recorded 1990. Originally released as Machine Altar Transmission and the Chemical Land EP in 1991. All tracks from those releases are included here, plus four bonus cuts from our second demo cassette (1989). This expanded 18-track set was remastered exclusively from our original tapes in 2024.

Light The Torch (Alternate) and Infantry (No. More. War.) are rare, and better, original versions of the tracks which appeared on the 1991 album.

The four newly restored bonus demo tracks are taken from DHI’s independently released Chemical Land Showdown cassette of 1989.


Chemical Land EP
“A solid release… superb sounds… the title track is already getting solid club and airplay in their hometown… DHI have a hard-fought release to be proud of.”
— StreetSound magazine (1991)

Machine Altar Transmission
“Toronto’s DHI (Death And Horror Inc.) is an industrial trio who assemble one unnerving mastication onslaught of spiky beats, feedback guitars, and hellish, incomprehensible vocals… If Stockhausen messed around with Black and Decker, Machine Altar Transmission might have been his baby.”
— CMJ Canada (1992)


  1. Chemical Land (Edit – 1990 Mix Restored)
  2. Climbing (1990 Mix Restored)
  3. Regenerate (1990 Mix Restored)
  4. New Vision (1990 Mix Restored)
  5. Machine Altar Transmission (1990 Mix Restored)
  6. Staircase Repetition (1990 Mix Restored)
  7. Light The Torch (Alternate – 1990 Mix Restored)
  8. Infantry (No. More. War. – 1990 Mix Restored)
  9. M1911A1 (1990 Mix Restored)
  10. Can You Change? (1990 Mix Restored)
  11. Corrosive Constant (1990 Mix Restored)
  12. No Place For The Cross (1990 Mix Restored)
  13. Chemical Land (1990 Mix Restored)
  14. Chemical Land (Showdown Version – 1990 Mix Restored)
  15. Can You Change? (1989 Demo Restored)
  16. Force Rhythm (1989 Demo Restored)
  17. Sentinel (1989 Demo Restored)
  18. Machine Altar Transmission (1989 Demo Restored)


Vicar: vocals, samples, guitars, synths
Max: samples, synths, computers
Graf: samples, synths, power tools

Written, performed and produced by DHI.

Tracks 1-14 engineered by Rob Sanzo at B-Zero Recording, Toronto, 1990.
Tracks 15-18 recorded on a portable 4-track cassette recorder, 1989.
Remastered by Vicar at Scriptorium IV in 2024.

Remaster released April 29, 2024
Chemical Land EP originally released on June 26, 1991
Machine Altar Transmission originally released on November 11, 1991



Summer SALE!

Add any of these items to your cart, and the cart will automatically apply these discounts during checkout:

30% OFF Unisex T-shirts

20% OFF Women's T-shirts

20% OFF Tanks

20% OFF Dad Hats

This attack-on-inflation event is on now, and runs until Sunday, June 16, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. EST.